Scaling is dependent on each campaigns individual situation. As you start to build some momentum, more people will be convinced of the validity of your post and campaign, (more likes, shares, sales, etc), and will be more likely to take action.
This being said, your audience will start to saturate and unless you’re continually adding more to your audience to keep your frequency less than 1.7 then you’re going to start seeing a drop in ROI.
This is the reason I personally scale slowly. If a campaign of mine is getting me 100% ROI on a $30 spend, I’ll bump up the spend to $50-$60, ensuring I still have a good amount of audience left and I might also add my fanpage that I’m advertising with in the ‘don’t advertise to people connected to’ section. This is because I want my ad continually advertised as many new people on FaceBook as possible.
If you’re still maintaining your ROI, then keep bumping it up but slowly. Keep adding more and more relevant, targeted audience. Obviously over time, you’ll have no more audience to add so your campaign will die off but till then, try and get the most out of your campaign as possible
Above are some campaigns I’ve scaled successfully with.
You’ll notice the CTRs are around 6-8% on average. This usually indicates a good campaign and so I’m not too worried when upping the spend. It’s when your CTR is crap that you should be worried.
The sky is the limit here, the main thing to watch is your ROI which is your spend divided by profit x 100, ( to get it in percentage).
For example if I spent $50 and made $100 worth in sales then my profit will be $100 – $50 = $50 hence my ROI will be,
$50/$50 = 1
1 x 100 = 100% ROI
This means that I’m doubling my money on my ‘investment’. As long as this number is in the clear positives, keep upping your budget. I was spending $5,000 a day at one time and making back $4-$7,000 in profit! The ROI was around 100% so I kept increasing my budget.
~ Mateen
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Hi Mateen, thank you for your useful series. In this post, you said that “Keep adding more and more relevant, targeted audience”. When you do this, do you duplicate the old adset and add more interests or you edit your old adset directly?
Thank you!
Hey Charles, I just edit the old ad set.
Hey Mateen,
Maybe you already mentioned it,but i have a few questions.
Aside from the ctr and roi. If you are going to test a new campaign on fb, for how many days are you testing it and how many days you select on teespring ? To see if it’s a good campaign.
And how many sales do you approximately expect during the testing period to go through and what sales number you select on teespring?
Regards,
For me it’s not about the number of days, it’s more about the spend.
If we’re talking Teespring, $30 with great targeting is enough.
I select 7 Days on Teesping, (you can restart this when the campaign ends).
The more sales the better but in my experience, 1 sale is still questionable, 2+ sales usually means a consistent campaign which means profitable campaign with some minor tweaking!
Hey Mateen.
Thank you for the information. Can I check with you though, if your system still works on 2016 and is your system still making you profits?
Thank buddy!
Hey Syafiq,
For most of this year I have been focusing on other projects. I haven’t run any major campaigns for a while but every now and then, when I do use the same system/process, I still generate sales.
It’s always the same system. Just the product/what’s hot will change with time.
Hey Mateen,
I remember when I scaled-up TS ads I sometimes had this problem: once I had a positive ROI, I doubled up the ad spend, and after checking the ROI 24 hours later, I found it to be (considerably) negative.
What do you do in these situations? Do you reduce the adspend? Wait?
Thank you in advance
Yeh scaling is an interesting thing.
You’ve got to let things re-optimise once you touch your ads so should give it a full 48hours to see similar results.
In saying that, I always increase budgets in increments and ONLY if I’m having great ROI. If it’s just 1-2 sales and i’ts kind of breakeven or a little profitable then I’ll just leave it.
I may be missing something but isn’t your ROI calculation off?
The 100$ in sales that you get isn’t all profit. On TS for example, costs for a basic tee are around 10$. If you sell it for 20$, your margin is 50% on sales.
So if you spend 50$ on ads and get 100$ (50$ profit) in sales, you’re breaking even not doubling your money.
Am I missing something?
When I refer to ‘sales’ I’m referring to Teespring payouts, (Our commission). I guess I should have clarified that.
Cool. Thanks Mateen.